Revisiting Skyrim

It’s incredibly rare that I’ll play a game until the 50 hour mark and have my criticism’s relevance suppressed by my overall satisfaction, or in the case of Skyrim, be so enthralled in the self-imposed adventure that criticism never seems to appear on the surface of my conscious thought. I’d never regarded Skyrim so highly until very recently revisiting it. With modern day singleplayer AAA titles the feeling of freshness and innovation you feel at first play quickly subsides into a mulch, a mess of uninspired and over repeated mechanics. I haven’t experienced yet that sadly familiar disillusionment with Skyrim.

I suppose it must be because Skyrim feels less like a videogame and more of an immersive experience. I get this inkling with games like Arkham Knight that much of the game’s narrative and overarching structure is built around fresh new game mechanics. With Skyrim it feels like the opposite, the aura and lore are intrinsic in how the game mechanics and levelling systems work, and it feels like a much cleaner and more harmonious experience.

Skyrim doesn’t feel rushed, desperate or in any way corporately handled compared to more recent games of its AAA calibre. It feels like the culmination of a thousand bright sparks at Bethesda, their ideas and fantasies seamlessly transported from imagination to digital realms. Every possible improvement has already been improved upon, any notion thought of, any perfection already perfected. It’s a newly discovered bench mark in imagination and execution, I feel. And it gives me hope for the future of Bethesda.

8 thoughts on “Revisiting Skyrim

  1. I think that truly great games will continue to age well. Skyrim was such a great game, and I think the load times between screen is the only thing that kept me from playing for 200+ hours.

    Like

      • Absolutely. I forget the name of the town I was in when I decided enough was enough, but the game had to load a small area that led to a door that loaded to another, bigger area. It was literally a combined 2-3 minute wait, and even though it wasn’t horribly long, it was enough to convince me I didn’t want to play any longer. I’d already beaten most of the game’s storylines, but I would have continued playing if the load times were better.

        I used to joke that The Elder Scrolls VI should come out on next gen consoles as the exact same game as Skyrim, only without the load screens. I think that alone would convince people to buy it a second time. Of course, it wouldn’t have to be a sequel. I would be happy with a new story, even if the graphics were the same as the old consoles, if it meant ZERO load times. It really is that important to me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’a all about maintaining the (I don’t want to sound illusion because something about it sounds rather sinister) experience, and long ass loading screens are sure an effective way of taking you out of it. Another delightful game that suffered from this was The Wolf Among Us.

    I’d also like to thank you for commenting regularly, it really means a lot 🙂

    Like

  3. Although I’m not a big fan of this series. Skyrim was great, and I enjoyed what I played of it. I ran into so many problems though, mainly with freezing. This made me put it down once I beat it, and I’ve never picked it up since. If not for that, I could have easily put several hundred hours into it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve always liked those games where you can replay them again and again and discover new things every single time. Like Dark Souls, Skyrim is a game where everyone who plays it has a unique story to tell.

    Liked by 1 person

Give me hate mail:

