Blogger Recognition Award!

 

BRA readjustedMany thanks to the amazing Rei for my nomination, I am genuinely so grateful for the recognition alone! I love the whole concept of the award, it is founded on an ideal of selfless effort and I am so glad to now be a part of it.

You should check Rei out before reading more of this post, she has loads of great gaming posts such as one about memorable gaming music, and another really good one about mechanical iconography in the Fatal Frame series! Her blog is also really introspective when she talks about gaming as a mother and wife. The candour of these posts make them equally as touching as they are interesting.

The rules!

  • Thank the blogger that nominated you.
  • Attach the award to the post.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.
  • Select 5 other bloggers you want to give the award to.

How I Started:

Well, I was just lunging in front of my recently fitted personal mirror room while donning some of my fluorescent yellow Y-fronts, observing my unreasonably large biceps, artificial light bouncing off of my petroleum jelly lathered six pack all the while, and I suddenly had one of my hourly epiphanies- Gosh! I need put myself online! I then swiftly nip-on’d at the prospect and began to feverishly channel my inner internet ragekid through the cathartic method of blogging. Blogging is my exorcism and my words are my devilish ectoplasm.

At least I think that’s how it happened…

To be perfectly honest, though, I just started when I was 15 because around about then I got really into the journalistic side of gaming, the cultural discussion and the critique. It fascinated me then and even more now. I guess that I must have decided I had something to contribute back then, and looking back now I might have been hyping myself up… but now that I’ve honed my skills at writing and now that I have some better critical faculties I think it was entirely worth the necessary stages of visible improvement. Why does anyone blog, really? The impetus is in equal parts eagerness to contribute and fascination for the subject.

A Piece Of Advice:

It’s not about the views. I know that sounds kind of strange coming from someone who is lucky enough to have amassed an audience, but if you write for the intention of recognition then that is bound to have an effect on your writing itself.

There is an inevitable factor of gratification when it comes to putting anything online… none of us would be here if we wrote solely to write in and of itself. We wouldn’t have blogs, we’d just have a computer folder where we’d keep our pieces privately, unseen, with the knowledge that solely the method of writing the piece is good enough in itself. No, we don’t put things online for ourselves, we put our words online because we believe that what we write is good enough to be read. That’s amazing! That’s gucci, man. But just don’t also give yourself an unreasonable expectation for views or reception. Otherwise writing just becomes an exercise in diminishing returns of gratification.

The element of community is one of the things that makes blogging an attractive idea and that’s fantastic, the process of being assimilated into a community of like-minded individuals through the sheer act of reading other peoples’ work out of interest has been nothing short of incredible. Just focus more on the side of contribution than the side of reception when it comes to writing and you will be fine.

My Nominations:

https://thecinemacrunch.wordpress.com/ -A cinema blog that also touches on T.V and videogames and *sigh* geek culture.

https://theatreandbookreview.wordpress.com/ -Says it all in the URL!

https://josephotworth.wordpress.com/ -Real cool dude (hell yeah) who posts about gaming.

https://iplayedthegame.wordpress.com/ -Another gucci man who posts about gaming. I know all of the cool dudes who post about games. All of them.

https://mrluvvaluvva.wordpress.com/ -The man with the most sensual URL on WordPress. If you can find a more tantalising URL, send it my way.

Give me hate mail:

