You Are Now My Inferiors

So me and The Well-Red Mage were just setting up in Brussels for a press conference one particularly exquisite evening, supping on some Châteauneuf-du-Pape (fine aroma, but desperately tart), and the old bugger slipped it to me that he’d nominated me for another award. Cheeky chappie, didn’t he know it was only recently that I’d been handed a BRA? For the untermenschen reading this, that’s what we in the industry refer to as a Blogger Recognition Award. Say it. Go on. Blog-ger-re-cog-ni-tion-a-ward. Lovely jubbly.

Once upon a time I might have been flattered by such a prospect but my excitement ebbs with every nomination nowadays. It’s routine. It’s banal. I think I missed out on the normal life… when I chose to be so irrevocably talented and handsome…

Ah, I jest! I could never afford to drink good wine, anyway. My deepest thanks to The Well-Red Mage, for the nomination, it really is flattering and I thank you for spending the time to comment on my posts 🙂 It’s the small things like that which do go to boost my confidence on this site.

For my readers, The Well-Red Mage is a fantastic success story of a collaborative, holistically geek blog, having decidedly boomed after only seven months (I assume, at least that’s how far the archives go back)! A most delectable recent post would be A Review Of The Reviewers Of Suicide Squad. Brilliantly intelligent post.

The Rules of The Entertainer Blogger Award

  • Write a post including the award picture.
  • Nominate 12 other bloggers who are funny, inspiring, and most importantly ENTERTAINING!
  • Add these rules to the post.
  • Thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog!
  • Answer the questions down below:

What do you hope to gain from blogging?

Money. Fame. Women. And also to, in general, better my writing skills through practice and observation of the community. I’m hoping to become an English student at University, and eloquence is something that I think will prove to be integral. At the heart of improvement is consumption, and there are some fantastic writers here.

What genre of film entertains you the most?

That’s a tricky one, I’d say that my favourite film would be Her by Spike Jonze but that’s particularly anomalous for my standard viewing. I love The Dark Knight and The Social Network just as much as I’ll adore anything by Hayao Miyazaki. I guess the universal factor here would be lingering implications.

Do you consider yourself a writer, and what inspires you to write? 

I would consider myself a writer, occasionally on this site I’ll churn out some soppy poetry if I’m in the mood. For the most part, though, you’ll find opinion pieces and games criticism here. I think for any critical writing, either harsh or loving, the driving force is fascination. I am fascinated by video games, in every aspect, and more than anything I believe that they, and their developers, deserve to be written about.

When writing creatively, however, the impetus to write flashes briefly and intensely. If I have an idea for something I want to nurture it immediately and until it is done, but it is mostly a feeling that I cannot describe. That is one of the most fantastic sensations that a writer can experience: the sudden and passionate urge to express.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

In general it would be that I hate people talking during movies, or music, or television. It’s just a little insult to the creators, an inadvertent statement to the creator that they are not worth listening to.

On this website I would suppose it would be the people who pretend to be a fan of your work just to get you to write for their website, but then never actually go to like or comment on any of your pieces at all. The concept of superficial praise is so disgusting, luckily on WordPress it is rare but it is not invisible.

Why did you choose your particular WordPress username?

Like all edgy 14 year olds I began to write my own fantasy novel, a prospect that quickly dimmed after 31,000 words (and I assure you that it is so thoroughly cringe-inducing that it might even pass as meta-entertainment. I might post it one day), but there was a name that stuck with me from it. ‘Vahrkalla’ had a medieval fantasy ring to it. He was the dragon in my story, cunning and packed with might. There was such an air of  mystery about him that even I, the author, was intrigued.

cave dragon

As much as it is  more than kind of cringey and probably not immediately impressive on a job application, it is somewhat delightful to have a written anchor to which the memories of inception are always tied.

My Nominations:

The Cinema Crunch

The Game Evolution

Mr Luvva Luvva

The Nerd Critic

I Played The Game

Sugar Free Turkey

Musings Of A Twenty Something Mom

JOESPEEKSGEEK

Soggz Blogs

Kean Writes All Day

Ed Holtom’s Books | Theatre | Music

If you’re still reading:

I’d like to add some optional additional questions, by the way:

-What is your favourite book, and why does it speak to you?

-What is your favourite song, and why does it speak to you?

-What is your favourite photograph, and why does it speak to you?

14 thoughts on “You Are Now My Inferiors

  1. Silly me! It must have been that Fernet-Branca. I love your sense of humor and this was one of the most enjoyable award posts I’ve read. Thank you for your kind words. And I knew we were separated at birth… same pet peeve and I love Miyazaki and The Dark Knight too. Thanks for participating and churning out such a delightful response!

    Liked by 1 person

Give me hate mail:

